The Zeta Kappa Chapter's History

The Zeta Kappa Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was the first Black Sorority and the second Black Greek Letter Organization to be chartered on the campus of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

The Zeta Kappa Chapter was chartered March 20, 1971. Sixteen young ladies became the first members of Zeta Kappa: Gwendolyn Perry Rucker, Valerie Akins Jennings, Gloria Barley, Lucy Borders Nealy, Deborah Burnette, Gwenda Coleman, Linda Coleman, Charlotte Fitzgerald, Janie Green, Barbara Mabry, Cheryl Traylor, Linda Traylor, Theola Traylor, Catherine Walton, Norma Wheeler Chapman, and Nancy Wood.